Quyana to all who nominated a deserving Calista Shareholder or Descendant for the 2023 Calista Annual Shareholder Awards! The nomination period closed at 5 pm on Wednesday, March 15. Winners will be announced by May 31, 2023.

  • Eligibility

    Calista Shareholders and Descendants living within and outside of the Calista Region are eligible to be nominated for this awards program. Nominees must currently be living and without any significant legal judgments.

  • What do winners receive

    Each award recipient selected by the Board of Directors receives a plaque and a $1,500 monetary award. Award recipients may be considered for the annual AFN President’s Awards at the discretion of Calista’s Board of Directors. Recipients must complete and return a W9 tax form and Calista Release of Liability form.

  • Recent Award Recipients
  • Award Categories

    Award categories are as follows:

    Calista Culture Bearer: A Calista Shareholder or Descendant who demonstrates strong involvement in the arts. Individuals nominated for this award may be involved in theater, music, dance, painting, sculpture and storytelling. This award can also recognize an artist, an arts administrator, or a preserver of Calista Region cultures.

    Axel C. Johnson Distinguished Shareholder: A Calista Shareholder or Descendant who continuously serves above and beyond their own self-interests to better the daily lives of Calista Shareholders and Descendants. Examples include health (traditional or Western), environmental issues, subsistence issues, substance abuse, suicide awareness/prevention, and other related issues and concerns.

    Calista Elder of the Year: A Calista Shareholder Elder who exemplifies the highest of values and qualities important to us as Native people. This individual is recognized as a leader, an educator, and preserver of the Native culture whose contributions have benefited Calista Shareholders and Descendants throughout his or her life. Elders are defined as individuals 65 years of age or older by the time of the award nominee submission deadline.

    Calista Youth/Educator of the Year: A Calista Shareholder or Descendant who has demonstrated strong commitment, competence, and sensitivity in the education field, and whose accomplishments have improved educational opportunities for Alaska Natives. Individuals nominated for this award may be involved in traditional education, preschool, elementary, secondary or postsecondary education. The nominees can be students, cultural educators, parent committee members, school board members, administrators, teacher aides, or other education-related professionals, who have been a positive role model for Calista Shareholders and Descendants.

    Raymond C. Christiansen Business of the Year: A Calista Shareholder or Descendant business owner or manager who has demonstrated success in business with a commitment to their community, which has improved economic opportunities for Calista Shareholders and Descendants.